💈 TIMELINE 🏅

An overview of Fiji's Modern History

1970 Independence Fiji becomes independent with Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara of the 1972 Alliance Party as Prime Minister the date of independence to be 10 First election held under the 1970 October 1970 Constitution, won by the Alliance party with 33 seats out of 52; Fiji Sugar Corporation Limited formed, which 1975 took over Colonial Sugar Refining Company (CSRC) operations in 1973. **CSRC** leaves Fiji 1981 The South Pacific Regional Trade and **Economics Agreement (SPARTECA)** gave island countries duty-free and unrestricted access to Australia and 1982 New Zealand; visit by the Prime Minister of India Mrs Indira Gandhi. Fiji hosts first Commonwealth Heads of Government Regional Meeting. 1987 1987 First bloodless military coup d'état **General Election** on 14 May, led by Lieutenant-Colonel Sitiveni Rabuka, the third Indian-dominated coalition led by down in the military hierarchy of Bavadra wins general election, ending the Fiji Military Forces, with the 17 years of rule by the AP and Prime aim of making indigenous Fijians Minister Mara: politically dominant; Taukei Movement became

more outspoken and aggressive

 Rabuka stages a second coup on 28 September and appoints Governor-General Ratu Sir Penaia Ganilau president; Ganilau in turn appoints Ratu Mara prime minister;

 Rabuka declares Fiji a Republic 7 October;

- Fiji excluded from Commonwealth;
- Britain, the United States, Australia and New Zealand suspend aid.

1989

60,000 ethic Indians flee Fiji as aggressions rise

1987 - 1992

Interim government appointed December led by Prime Minister Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara

1990 New constitution enshrining

political dominance for indigenous Fijians introduced.

1999

Mahendra Chaudhry, an ethnic Indian, becomes Prime Minister after the Fiji

2006

Fourth coup d'état on Tuesday December 5, 2006 by Navy Commodore Josaia Voreqe (Frank) Bainimarama deposed Prime Minister Laisenia Qarase.

2008

The People's Charter for Change, Peace and Progress recommended a change in the name of Fiji's citizens. All citizens of Fiji, whatever their ethnicity, would be called "Fijians". The proposal would change the English name of indigenous Fijians from "Fijians" to iTaukei, the Fijian language endonym for indigenous Fijians.

1994

Fiji re-admitted to the Commonwealth after it introduces a non-discriminatory constitution.

2005

Third military coup led by former businessman George Speight and retired Major Ilisoni Ligairi on Friday, 19 May. They storm parliament, aiming to make indigenous Fijians the dominant political force; Deposed Prime Minister and Labour Party leader, Mahendra Pal Chaudhry, and his cabinet are held hostage for 56 days.

- June Commonwealth suspends Fiji;
- July Chaudhry and other hostages released;
- Speight and 360 of his supporters are arrested

2013

Fiji's fourth constitution was signed into law by President Ratu Epeli Nailatikau on September 19, 2013.

2014

Josaia Voreqe Frank Bainimarama of FijiFirst forms government and is sworn in as Prime Minister on September 22, 2014. FijiFirst hold 32 seats in the new Parliament, SODELP 15 and NFP 3

2014

2014 – General Election held on 17 September 2014. Fiji First Party (FFP: 59.2%), Social Democratic Liberal Party (SODELPA: 28.1%), National Federation Party (NFP: 5.5%), People's Democratic Party (PDP: 3.2%), Fiji Labour Party (FLP: 2.4%), One Fiji Party (OFP: 1.2%), Fiji Untied Freedom Party (FUFP: 0.2%), Independents (0.2%)

2014

Fiji is reinstated as a full member of the Commonwealth on September 27, 2014 after a 5 years suspension in 2009.

2018

Prime Minister Bainimirama was re-elected in 2018 with his FijiFirst party receiving 50.02% of the total vote, and the Social Democratic Liberal party, led by former prime minister Sitiveni Rabuka, second on 39.85%. The National Federation party received 7.38%.

Follow this link for a deeper look at the politics over the previous 20 years https://thecommonwealth.org/our-member-countries/fiji/constitution-politics